Which countries currently require travel assistance to enter?

The coronavirus pandemic has revolutionized everyday life in general and the world of travel even more. While some countries maintain various types of restrictions on their borders - totally closed or open only to certain nationalities - others impose new entry rules.

Due to the current situation, the companies dedicated to providing travel assistance and medical insurance explain that the number of destinations that require travelers to hire this type of services and, in some cases, also demand a certain level of insurance coverage, are increasing. In other words, if there’s any inconvenience, the hired service has to comply with the medical benefits that may be required.

In a context where health has been above any other concern and in places where the health system has collapsed, it is logical that with the return of travel in some regions of the world, the movement of people between countries, there are new requirements. Everyone wants to cover up.

Some examples:

In mid-June, Cambodia reported that all foreign visitors should hire a travel assistance service with coverage of no less than $ 50,000 before traveling. But that wasn’t all: upon arrival, they had to pay a kind of "coronavirus deposit" of $ 3,000 that could cover tests, quarantine and even hospitalization expenses if necessary.

Other places like Cyprus, in the Mediterranean, sought to attract tourists -from certain countries considered safe- offering to take care of medical expenses in case the visitor fell ill with coronavirus while on the island. Meanwhile, it is mandatory to have medical insurance, since last July 29, in order to travel to Brazil.

This is why in recent times, travel assistance companies have begun to adapt their products based on the requirements demanded by each of the countries and also on the demands of travelers.

The list of countries, updated at the end of July, that request insurance to enter:

  • Germany
  • Angola
  • Algeria
  • Aruba
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Belarus
  • Brazil
  • Qatar
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Denmark
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Ecuador
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Netherlands
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malt
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Czech Republic
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Australia and New Zealand require travel insurance for students.

Contact Us

Our services in the health industry and traveler assistance are specially oriented to the following groups of companies:

Travel Insurance Companies
& Travel Assistance Companies